Drewry A. Carmichael came to the Old Campbell County in 1889 to seek his fortune. He soon met Miss Cora Westbrook, the tenth of eleven children of W.R. and Elizabeth Westbrook, and won her heart. As a wedding gift, the Westbrooks gave the young couple a plantation consisting of thirty acres of land and a house built in the early 1800s.
The years were good to the Carmichaels, and Drewry became very successful. Drewry and his brother designed and patented farm equipment and founded a factory in Fairburn to build the equipment. He was instrumental in the Farmers Union selecting Old Campbell as its Georgia National Headquarters, and this contributed greatly to the area’s economy. On August 17, 1908, a new town was chartered where the National Headquarters was located and was named Union City. Drewry A. Carmichael was elected as Union City’s first mayor.
Drewry and Cora built a fancy new home on the site where the Westbrook Home had stood for 50 years. It had white columns, marble steps and many more adornments. All the supporting walls were also constructed of solid brick. Ten (10) fireplaces, sliding pocket doors, beveled windows and doors, pine floors, and the wrap around porch with large columns are a few of the features which made the Carmichaels' home unique to the area.
The large basement has now been converted into a Wine Cellar and lounge with a full bar.
Mr. Carmichael’s prosperity was to be short lived. In 1915, the Farmers Union failed because of the devastation to farmers caused by the boll weevil. His farm equipment factory also began to fail. Mr. Carmichael had invested most of his money in the local bank in Union City and was chairman of the board of directors. One of the bank officials absconded with most of the bank’s cash, and Mr. Carmichael had to sell off much of his personal property to help repay the stockholders and patrons of the bank. In 1919, Dr. Albert J. Green bought the home for $6700.
Dr. Green moved his lovely bride, Miss Johnnie Hobgood, daughter of Dr. Lewis Martin and Lula Palmer Hobgood, a very prominent family from Fairburn, into their new home. He used the front room for his office, and his patients waited on the front porch on swings and rocking chairs. He continued his practice here until shortly before his death in 1947. Mrs. Green continued to live here until her death in February, 1984 at the age of 90.
The house has been maintained exactly as it was originally built, except that a kitchen has been added where the back porch stood. Part of the wrap around porch was enclosed, and a large banquet room, known as the Magnolia Room, was built on to provide additional seating. During the renovation of the house, the original fireplace dating back to 1800 was found in the basement, and cannon balls from the Civil War have also been recovered from the property.
The Historic Green Manor Restaurant officially opened for business on November 5, 1990, with the four main downstairs rooms and has continued to add additional dining space through the years. The seating capacity is now 250 guests. Visit Green Manor online at www.greenmanor.biz.
History of the Green Manor
In 1919, a handsome doctor presented the keys of a stately mansion to his new bride. That mansion, Green Manor, still stands…its historic architecture carefully restored…wide verandas…beveled glass doors…beautiful chandeliers…a magnificent mahogany staircase. Crossing its threshold is returning to the bygone South. So pull up a rocking chair on the Green Manor’s front veranda…this might just be your next great Georgia experience.
Green Manor Restaurant